About the AU Development Office

Africa University Inc., a 501c3 non-profit corporation registered in Tennessee in May 1988, and its operational unit, the Africa University Development Office (AUDO), are the primary entities through which supporters, friends and potential partners/collaborators as well as the agencies, churches and members of The United Methodist Church relate to Africa University.

The activities of Africa University, Inc. and the Africa University Development Office are guided by a Strategic Plan that has been approved by the Africa University (Tennessee) Inc. Board of Directors.

Meet Our Board

AFP: Donor Bill of Rights 

Friends who invest in Africa University’s ministry, through Africa University, Inc., are always assured of our commitment to the highest level of ethical conduct. Africa University, Inc. is a member of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP). All members of staff and consultants commit to and are guided in their conduct by the AFP’s Donor Bill of Rights.


Supported by a 30-person Board of Directors, the President/CEO of Africa University, Inc. inspires, implements and delivers on relational and institutional advancement goals.

2020-2024 Strategic Plan 


Goal 1

Raise, maintain, invest, and distribute with accountability, the resources for Africa University.

Goal 2

Plan, implement, coordinate, oversee and/or assist with public relations and marketing activities to promote Africa University’s programs, services, accomplishments, and needs. The purpose would be to educate and cultivate its donors and motivate prospective donors to support the university.

Goal 3

Conceive, plan and implement, and facilitate strategic partnerships or alliances with entities that may assist the university.

Goal 4

Expand and enhance the effectiveness and efficiency of its administrative services to improve resource development and donor stewardship.

Goal 5

Provide the necessary administrative support to ensure the efficient and effective performance of the Africa University (Tennessee) Board of Directors, Board Development Committee, and Advisory Development Committee.